Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Greening COP26: Green Priorities for the International Climate Negotiations – Webinar

October 21, 2021 @ 8:00 pm 9:30 pm

As the 26th meeting of the Conference of the Parties (COP) to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change draws near, the pressure for global climate action is mounting. It’s an opportunity for a moment of change – more and more business, organizations and countries are setting net-zero goals, while the climate movement has kept up the ambition for intersectional and just climate action. It is clear to more people than ever before that urgent change is necessary for a safe and fair future. As Greens, who have been at the forefront of environmental movements, are increasingly taking up government responsibility in Europe and across the world,  what does that look like and how are they fighting for change in the international climate negotiations? How do we make sure COP26 can bring meaningful change and not just empty promises? 

Speakers:  

  • Leonore Gewessler,  Minister of Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology, Government of Austria 
  • James Shaw, Minister of Climate Change, Government of New Zealand 
  • Terhi Lehtonen, State Secretary for the Ministry for the Environment, Government of Finland 
  • Eamon Ryan, Minister for Environment, Climate, Communications and Transport, Government of Ireland 

Join us for a discussion moderated by Green Member of Parliament for the UK, Caroline Lucas, on the priorities and key issues for Greens in Government from around the world.  

French and Spanish language options will be available.

Thursday, October 21st 7pm London/ 8pm Brussels & Vienna/9pm Helsinki/ 7am Wellington